Officers & Directors

Marisa BullockMarisa V. Leon


Marisa V. Leon is the founder of the Law Offices of Marisa V. Leon, P.C. wherein her practice areas include estate planning, special needs planning, elder law, and probate.  Marisa believes in meeting with her clients and developing an individualized plan that will work for their family when they need it most.  Marisa believes a well-developed, personalized plan is a gift for the people you love most.

Marisa graduated from the University of Houston-Clear Lake with a bachelor’s degree in healthcare administration and earned her law degree from South Texas College of Law.  Marisa has served as Secretary, Treasurer, Vice President, and on the Board of Directors of the Hispanic Bar Association since 2010. Marisa was awarded the President’s Award in recognition of her exemplary service and dedication to the Hispanic Bar Association of Houston during her first year as a Board Member and again in 2016. Marisa is currently HisBA’s President.


Chris DomingoChristopher H. Domingo


Christopher H. Domingo is a senior associate in the Business and Tort Litigation practice group at Jones Day. Chris concentrates his practice on complex commercial and business litigation, with a focus on contract disputes, construction matters, environmental claims, and FCPA compliance. He has substantial experience with trial, motion, and discovery practice in federal and state courts and routinely represents plaintiffs and defendants in Texas and throughout the United States.

Chris graduated from the University of Notre Dame with a degree in political science and obtained his juris doctorate from the University of Houston Law Center. Chris has been actively involved with the Hispanic Bar Association of Houston since 2012. He has previously served as Secretary and Treasurer, and he is now the organization’s President-Elect for the 2016-2017 year.

Alfredo Ramos

Vice President

Alfredo Ramos is a corporate partner in the Houston and Mexico City offices of Gardere, Wynne, Sewell LLP. Alfredo is an experienced transactional/mergers & acquisitions attorney and former in-house counsel focused primarily on serving the energy industry and other international business interests in Latin America and the U.S.

As a bi-lingual and bi-cultural attorney, Alfredo frequently travels to Latin America to represent his clients’ interests and provides legal advice in Spanish in all areas of business. Alfredo is a recognized leader in energy policy and has testified before the Texas Senate Natural Resources Committee on Mexico’s energy reforms and its impact on Texas. Alfredo has served on the Hispanic Bar Association’s Board of Directors since 2014. In the 2015-2016 Executive Board session, Alfredo served as Secretary and is now HisBA’s Vice President.

aa-headshotAngelica G. Alfaro


Angelica G. Alfaro (“Angie”) is a Senior Legal Counsel at Hess Corporation, where she provides legal support primarily to Hess Global Supply Chain and Developments. Angie has also served as Legal Counsel at Shell Oil Company, as Counsel at King and Spalding and as an associate at Peckar & Abramson. Over the years, her practice has evolved from construction litigation to complex commercial transactions related to large capital projects and procurement for global companies. Angie is currently serving as Treasurer of HisBA and has served on the board since 2009. In May 2016, she was awarded the President’s Award in recognition of her exemplary service and dedication to HisBA.

Angie is Texas born, raised and educated. She was raised in the Rio Grande Valley, graduated from Texas A&M University with Civil Engineering degree and graduated from The University of Texas at Austin with a Masters in Engineering and a Juris Doctorate. For the last 10 years, Houston has been home for Angie and her husband, Xavier.

adanAdán D. Briones


Adán D. Briones serves as in-house legal counsel for Boardwalk Pipeline Partners, a midstream company that provides natural gas and liquid transportation, storage, gathering and processing services.

Prior to joining Boardwalk, Adán was an associate with the law firms of Vinson & Elkins LLP and Jones Walker LLP, where he represented large energy clients in both affirmative and defensive civil litigation matters. Adán also has had the privilege of serving as an Assistant United States Attorney for the Southern District of Texas.

Adán received degrees in Government and History with High Honors from the University of Texas (2001), a Master in Public Policy from Harvard’s Kennedy School of Government (2004), and a Juris Doctorate from the University of Texas School of Law (2007). He has served on HisBA’s Board of Directors and is now currently the Secretary for the 2016-2017 Membership Year.


Angela-GarciaAngela C. Garcia

Immediate Past President

Angela C. Garcia is the founder of The Garcia Law Office, PLLC and primarily focuses her practice on representing individuals who have suffered injuries due to the misconduct of others. Ms. Garcia also represents individuals in the areas of family law and criminal defense, and has experience handling collection matters for various Fortune 500 companies in all phases of litigation.

Angela graduated from Texas A&M University with a degree in economics and obtained her law degree from South Texas College of Law. She became a member of the Hispanic Bar Association of Houston as a law student in 2007 and joined its Board of Directors in 2011. Ms. Garcia has previously served as Secretary, Treasurer, President-Elect and President of HisBA.


Francisco Aguayo
Adelqui J. Boué
Jesús J. Castillón
George Díaz-Arrastía
Ramon L. Echevarria II
Thomas J. Forestier
Juan C. Garcia
Sergio Garza
Luke J. Gilman
Diana Pérez Gomez
Hon. Michael Gomez
Natalie Alfaro Gonzales
Amparo Y. Guerra
Jessie D. Herrera, Jr.
Sergio V. Leal
Nelsy Gómez Lipford
Chris Lopez
Ruth T. Mendez
Rocio Guadalupe Mendoza
Manuel Moctezuma
Stephen J. Quezada
Daniel N. Ramirez
Ivan M. Rodriguez
Edgar Saldivar
Gustavo Torres, Jr.
Juan F. Vasquez, Jr.
Hon. Joe Villarreal

Advisory Board

Efren Acosta
Edward Aviles
Jose Berlanga
Celia Ballí
Rueben C. Cásarez
Edgardo E. Colón
David Deanda
Mario de la Garza
Oscar De la Rosa
Christian A. Garza
Johnny N. Garza, Jr.
George Gonzalez
Hon. Eva Guzman
Elizabeth Bazan Hawkins
Angelica M. Hernández
Hon. Debra Ibarra Mayfield
Arturo G. Michel
Prof. Michael Olivas
Prof. Ana Otero
Hon. Josefina Rendon
James G. Rodriguez
Prof. Lupe Salinas
Prof. Sandra Guerra Thompson
Prof. Stephen Zamora

Past Presidents

J. Michael Solar
Hon. Manuel D. Leal, Jr.
Hon. Alberto R. Gonzales
Rueben C. Cásarez
Thelma Elizalde
Roland Garcia, Jr.
Edgardo E. Colón
Arturo G. Michel
Yolanda Cortes
Leslie Garcia Ashby
Fernando Tovar
Elizabeth Bohorquez
Milenia I. Soto
Hon. Arturo Deleon, Jr.
Angelica M. Hernández
Elizabeth Bazan Hawkins
Jorge Kamine
Sergio Garza
Hon. Michael Gomez
Gregory V. Luna
Christian A. Garza
Diana Pérez Gomez
Johnny N. Garza, Jr.
Juan F. Vasquez, Jr.
Daniel N. Ramirez
Nelsy Gómez Lipford
Juan C. Garcia
Angela C. Garcia

Copyright 2017 | Hispanic Bar Association of Houston. All Rights Reserved. | Site by KT Design